Speak to a Travel Professional
(408) 395-3811

WIN a FREE Trip! – enter here!

Destinations »

Dieciocho de Julio

Created in 1903, the small town of Dieciocho de Julio was once called “San Miguel” however in the 1950’s it was changed. The date of July 18 holds a special place for all of Uruguayans. It marked the day the Constitution of Uruguay was established. Today, a lone castle stands on the hilltop of the town. Formerly a colonial castle, Fuerte San Miguel was converted into an inn and hotel. Replicas of 18th century San Miguel is displayed all over the courtyard of the inn.

Travel content powered by Advaia.com